Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Media center articles

Current Articles | Search

Twisp mayor to serve on Association of Washington Cities Board of Directors

Media contact:
Alicia Seegers Martinelli
Communications Director
(360) 753-4137

OLYMPIA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC) announced that Twisp Mayor Soo Ing-Moody was recently appointed to the organization’s Board of Directors. Ing-Moody represents AWC board district 3, which includes 37 cities and towns in Chelan, Douglas, Grant and Okanogan Counties.

“I believe in AWC to represent the interests of all cities and towns throughout Washington State,” said Ing-Moody. “It’s an honor to serve as an AWC director, and to be part of the team that works to ensure the organization continues to thrive, as we hope our cities and towns do.”

The AWC Board of Directors is the association’s governing body. The board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are mayors or city councilmembers from Washington cities or towns, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

Ing-Moody started on the Twisp council in 2009 before becoming mayor in October 2010. She was re-elected mayor in November 2015.

AWC’s mission is to serve its members through advocacy, education and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch, and with regulatory agencies. Membership is voluntary. However, AWC consistently maintains 100 percent participation from Washington’s 281 cities and towns.