Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      


City Champion Awards

AWC’s third annual City Champion Awards acknowledge the hard work and dedication of legislators who championed critical city priority issues during the 2016 legislative session. AWC is additionally honoring nine legislators and the Governor this year as Special Recognition City Champions; two retiring senators; seven legislators who participated in the House Local Government Champions Caucus; and the Governor for his vetoes that helped cities.

These awards are a component of our Strong Cities, Great State campaign that brings cities and towns together to achieve greater results and deliver stronger services.

AWC’s City Champion Awards are presented to recipients throughout the summer and fall at district events and meetings.

Overall City Champion Award winners

Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland) and Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton) are recognized for their work on the Local Government Champions Caucus and efforts to strengthen the Public Records Act.

Rep. Drew Hansen (D-Bainbridge Island) and Rep. Drew Stokesbary (R-Auburn) are recognized for their work on police body-worn camera legislation.

Sen. Mike Padden (R-Spokane Valley) is recognized for his work on police body-worn camera and nuisance abatement legislation.

Sen. Annette Cleveland (D-Vancouver) is recognized for her advocacy and leadership on housing and homelessness issues.

Special Recognition City Champions

Governor Jay Inslee is recognized for his support in providing critical infrastructure funding for local governments, as evidenced by his veto to stop diverting funds from the Public Works Trust Fund.

Seven legislators are recognized for promoting and participating in the House Local Government Champions Caucus – Rep. Tana Senn (D-Mercer Island – second year winner), Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton – second year winner), Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland), Rep. Dick Muri (R-Lakewood), Rep. Sherry Appleton (D-Poulsbo), Rep. Steve Kirby (D-Tacoma), and Rep. Mia Gregerson (D-SeaTac).

Finally, two legislators are being recognized for their legislative career of service to cities – Retiring Sen. Karen Fraser (D-Olympia) and retiring Sen. Linda Evans Parlette (R-Chelan).

Past award winners

Tell your legislator to become a champion for cities

Check out our Flickr to see pictures of the 2016 City Champion Award winners!