Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

AWC News

Current Articles | Search

2017 Nominating Committee appointments

AWC President Jim Restucci appointed the 2017 AWC Board Nominating Committee:

  • Don Gerend, Chair, Mayor, Sammamish
  • Tom Trulove, Mayor, Cheney
  • Craig George, Mayor, Dayton
  • Glenn Johnson, Mayor, Pullman
  • Chuck Johnson, Councilmember, East Wenatchee
  • Shane Bowman, Councilmember, Battle Ground
  • Ken Botero, Councilmember, Longivew
  • Penny Sweet, Councilmember, Kirkland
  • Donna Wright, Councilmember, Marysville
  • Kathy Hougardy, Councilmember, Tukwila

The Nominating Committee recruits, interviews and selects a list of potential candidates for election to the AWC Board of Directors at AWC’s Annual Conference in June. Serving on the Committee is a significant and appreciated contribution to AWC.

According to AWC Bylaws, the Committee is comprised of between seven to eleven members, split between east and west of the Cascades, based on proportionate incorporated population with no more than two members from a Board district.

Committee members must meet a few qualifications:

  • Holds a current elected city position for at least two years
  • Not run for a position on the 2017/2018 AWC Board of Directors
  • Available to attend all meetings of the Nominating Committee

AWC scheduled these 2017 Nominating Committee meetings. If you are appointed, you will be expected to attend these meetings:

  • First meeting: Tuesday, February 14, 2017, 10 am – Noon, AWC Offices, Olympia
  • Second meeting: Friday, April 7, 2017, 10 am – 2:00 pm, AWC Offices, Olympia
  • Interviews: Monday, June 19, 2017, 9 am – 5:00 pm, Hilton Convention Center, Vancouver