Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      


Welcome to AWC’s online library of Legislative Bulletin and CityVoice news articles and other updates.

Published on Friday, March 20, 2015

Federal update

Sixty-five city officials from Washington State recently attended a National League of Cities (NLC) conference in Washington, D.C. Conference highlights included a speech by President Obama, presentations by numerous Cabinet Secretaries, a joint meeting between Washington city officials and our Senators Murray and Cantwell on Capitol Hill, and numerous meetings with Congressional staff (House members were on recess back in their districts).

AWC’s Federal Legislative Priorities, formulated by our Federal Committee and considered and approved by our Board, were shared and discussed with our representatives and is reflected in NLC’s priorities: Close the Online Sales Tax Loophole, Invest in Local Transportation Priorities, and Protect Municipal Bonds.

AWC’s President Francis Benjamin (Councilmember, Pullman) and Vice President Paul Roberts (Councilmember, Everett) attended, as did AWC Interim CEO Luann Hopkins, and Government Relations Director Dave Williams. President Benjamin and Interim CEO Hopkins were honored to be invited to participate in briefings at the White House.

Attendees used the opportunity to participate in a number of policy discussions among the membership and within meetings of NLC’s Board, Advisory Council, and Policy and Advocacy Committees. Washington is fortunate to have representatives on all of them listed below:

NLC Board of Directors

  • Bill Peloza, Councilmember, Auburn

NLC Advisory Council

  • David Baker, Mayor, Kenmore (Vice Chair)
  • Conrad Lee, Councilmember, Bellevue

First Tier Suburbs Council

  • John Holman, Deputy Mayor, Auburn

Military Communities Council

  • Andy Ryder, Mayor, Lacey (Vice Chair)

Community and Economic Development Committee

  • Nancy Tosta, Councilmember, Burien (Policy and Advocacy Committee)
  • John Holman, Deputy Mayor, Auburn (Steering Committee)

Energy, Environment and Natural Resources Committee

  • Patrick Rushing, Mayor, Airway Heights (Policy and Advocacy Committee)
  • Cynthia Pratt, Deputy Mayor, Lacey (Steering Committee)
  • Paul Roberts, Councilmember, Everett (Steering Committee)

Finance, Administration and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

  • Virgil Clarkson, Council Member, Lacey (Policy and Advocacy Committee)
  • Nancy Backus, Mayor, Auburn (Policy and Advocacy Committee)

Human Development Committee

  • Mia Gregerson, Mayor, SeaTac (Vice Chair)
  • Doris McConnell, Council Member, Shoreline (Steering Committee)
  • Largo Wales, Councilmember, Auburn, (Steering committee)

Information Technology and Communications Committee

  • David Baker, Mayor, Kenmore (Steering Committee)
  • Jennifer Gregerson, Mayor, Mukilteo (Steering Committee)
  • Jim Haggerton, Mayor, Tukwila (Steering Committee)
  • Don Gerend, Councilmember, Sammamish (Steering Committee)

Public Safety and Crime Prevention Committee

  • Anthony Anderson, Deputy Mayor, SeaTac (Vice Chair)

Transportation and Infrastructure Services Committee

  • Kate Kruller, Councilmember, Tukwila (Steering Committee)
  • Tom Odell, Councilmember, Sammamish (Steering Committee)
  • Wayne Osborne, Councilmember, Auburn (Steering Committee)
  • Andy Ryder, Mayor, Lacey (Steering Committee)
  • Allan Van Ness, Councilmember, Kenmore (Steering Committee)

Additionally, Sammamish Councilmember Tom Odell serves as President of the Western Municipal Association, and Interim CEO Luann Hopkins serves as Secretary.

For more information or questions, please contact AWC’s Serena Dolly.

Categories: Federal