Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Media center articles

Current Articles | Search

Association of Washington Cities announces new and re-elected officers and directors

OLYMPIA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC) recently announced that city officials from Washington’s 281 cities elected new officers and directors to the AWC Board of Directors. AWC held board elections at the association’s Annual Business Meeting on June 22 in Vancouver, Washington except for the positions of Secretary and Large City Representative, which the board elected the following day.

In accordance with the association’s bylaws, all odd-numbered districts were up for election.

AWC officers are:

  • President: Pat Johnson, Mayor, Buckley
  • Vice President: Don Britain, Mayor Pro Tem, Kennewick
  • Secretary: Ed Stern, Councilmember, Poulsbo (also District 12)
  • Immediate Past President: Jim Restucci, Mayor, Sunnyside
  • Past President: Paul Roberts, Councilmember, Everett
  • Large City Representative: Sally Bagshaw, Councilmember, Seattle (also District 11)

AWC directors are:

  • District 1: Micki Harnois, Councilmember, Rockford
  • District 3: Soo Ing-Moody, Mayor, Twisp
  • District 5: Sean Guard, Mayor, Washougal
  • District 7: Will Hall, Councilmember, Shoreline
  • District 9: David Condon, Mayor, Spokane*
  • District 11: Mike O’Brien, Councilmember, Seattle*
  • District 13: Claude DaCorsi, Councilmember, Auburn
  • At-Large #1: Kent Keel, Mayor Pro Tem, University Place
  • At-Large #3: Carmen Méndez, Assistant Mayor, Yakima

*Denotes city selection.

“It is a privilege and an honor to serve as AWC president,” said Johnson. “Regardless of the size or location of our cities and towns, we all have issues in common and we must continue to work together to address our challenges at home in Olympia and in the other Washington. We have more strength working together than trying to work solo.”

The AWC Board of Directors is the association’s governing body. The board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are elected officials (mayors or councilmembers) from Washington cities or towns, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

AWC serves its members through advocacy, education and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch, and with regulatory agencies. Membership is voluntary. However, AWC consistently maintains 100 percent participation from Washington’s 281 cities and towns. AWC also provides training, data and publications, and programs such as the AWC Employee Benefit Trust, AWC Risk Management Service Agency, AWC Workers’ Comp Retro, AWC Drug and Alcohol Consortium, and AWC GIS Consortium.

A complete list of AWC Directors is available on the association’s website.


Media contact:
Emma Shepard
Communications Coordinator
Association of Washington Cities
(360) 753-4137