Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Media center articles

Current Articles | Search

Association of Washington Cities announces City Champion Award winners

Olympia, WA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC), an Olympia-based organization advocating on behalf of Washington’s 281 cities and towns, announced the recipients of its third annual City Champion Award. The award acknowledges the hard work and dedication of legislators who championed critical city issues during the 2016 legislative session.

“2017 legislative session is predicted to be one of the most difficult in years – where major policy and revenue fights come to a head,” said AWC President Jim Restucci, “In this environment, it’s now more critical than ever that city officials work with state legislators to reinforce the value of 281 strong cities. That’s why we are taking this opportunity during legislative interim to thank the legislators who are working to fight for things that cities care about.”

AWC’s City Champion Awards will be presented to recipients throughout the summer at district events and meetings. 2016 recipients are listed below.

City Champions

Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland) and Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton) are recognized for their work on the Local Government Champions Caucus and efforts to strengthen the Public Records Act.

Rep. Drew Hansen (D-Bainbridge Island) and Rep. Drew Stokesbary (R-Auburn) are recognized for their work on police body-worn camera legislation.

Sen. Mike Padden (R-Spokane Valley) is recognized for his work on police body-worn and nuisance abatement legislation.

Sen. Annette Cleveland (D-Vancouver) is recognized for her advocacy and leadership on housing and homelessness issues.

Special recognition City Champions

Governor Jay Inslee is recognized for his support in providing critical infrastructure funding for local governments, as evidenced by his veto to stop diverting funds from the Public Works Trust Fund.

Seven legislators are recognized for promoting and participating in the House Local Government Champions Caucus: Rep. Tana Senn (D-Mercer Island – second year winner), Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton – second year winner), Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland), Rep. Dick Muri (R-Lakewood), Rep. Sherry Appleton (D-Poulsbo), Rep. Steve Kirby (D-Tacoma) and Rep. Mia Gregerson (D-SeaTac).

Finally, two legislators are recognized for their legislative career of service to cities – Retiring Sen. Karen Fraser (D-Olympia) and retiring Sen. Linda Evans Parlette (R-Chelan).

The Association of Washington Cities serves its members through advocacy, education and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch and with regulatory agencies. The AWC also provides training, technical assistance, and Member Pooling Programs such as the Employee Benefit Trust, Risk Management Service Agency, Workers’ Comp Retro, and the Drug and Alcohol Consortium.


Media contact:
Emma Shepard
Communications Coordinator
(360) 753-4137