Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Media center articles

Current Articles | Search

Association of Washington Cities announces new officers and directors

Olympia – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC) recently announced new officers and directors elected to the board. Elections were held at the association’s Business Meeting on June 23 in Everett, except for the positions of Secretary and Large City Representative, which were elected by the Board of Directors the following day.

In accordance with the association’s bylaws, all even-numbered districts, except District 10, were up for election. District 10 is a single city district held by the City of Tacoma, Washington’s third largest city.

AWC officers are:

  • President: Jim Restucci, Mayor, Sunnyside
  • Vice President: Pat Johnson, Mayor, Buckley
  • Secretary: Don Britain, Mayor Pro Tem, Kennewick (also At-Large #3)
  • Immediate Past President: Paul Roberts, Councilmember, Everett
  • Past President: Don Gerend, Mayor, Sammamish
  • Large City Representative: David Condon, Mayor, Spokane (also District 9)

AWC directors are:

  • District 2: K.C. Kuykendall, Councilmember, Waitsburg
  • District 4: Mario Martinez, Mayor, Mabton
  • District 6: Cynthia Pratt, Deputy Mayor, Lacey
  • District 8: Jon Nehring, Mayor, Marysville
  • District 10: Ryan Mello, Deputy Mayor, Tacoma
  • District 12: Ed Stern, Councilmember, Poulsbo
  • District 14: Beth Munns, Councilmember, Oak Harbor
  • At-Large #2: Jerry Phillips, Mayor, Long Beach
  • At-Large #4: Dorothy Knauss, Mayor, Chewelah

The AWC Board of Directors is the association’s governing body. The board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are mayors or city councilmembers from Washington cities or towns, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

AWC’s mission is to serve its members through advocacy, education and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch, and with regulatory agencies. Membership is voluntary. However, AWC consistently maintains 100 percent participation from Washington’s 281 cities and towns.

A complete list of AWC Directors is available on the association’s website.


Media contact:
Alicia Seegers Martinelli
Communications Director
(360) 753-4137