Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Media center articles

Current Articles | Search

Association of Washington Cities announces Advocacy All-Star Award winners

Olympia, WA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC), an Olympia-based organization advocating on behalf of Washington’s 281 cities and towns, announced the recipients of its second annual Advocacy All-Star Award.

The award was established in 2015 to acknowledge city elected officials who publicly advocate for cities and towns in Washington state. City officials receiving the award conducted advocacy efforts before and during the recently completed 2016 legislative session. Their efforts included making trips to Olympia to testify at the legislature, forming or joining coalitions to help mobilize a city cause, contacting local media, and spearheading campaigns to educate area legislators and the public about the importance of a strong city-state partnership.

“Washington cities are where the majority of Washington’s residents live, learn, work, and play. Cities are where the majority of jobs are located, and where the state’s revenue is raised,” said Paul Roberts, AWC President and City of Everett councilmember. “It’s important that mayors and councilmembers work together to share this message. As a result of these ongoing efforts, all legislators will understand that strong cities make a great state.”

 “The Advocacy All-Star Awards recognize and celebrate the actions of city officials across the state who are advocating for all 281 cities,” stated AWC CEO Peter B. King. “Their collective voice is telling the legislature that if we work together, the state will thrive.”

AWC’s Advocacy All-Star Awards will be presented to the recipients in attendance on June 22 at the AWC Annual Conference in Everett.

2016 Advocacy All-Star Award winners:

Mayor David Baker, Kenmore is recognized for his ongoing engagement with area legislators on city issues at both the state and federal levels, and his presence on the ground in Olympia and Washington, D.C.

Mayor Jill Boudreau, Mount Vernon is recognized for her efforts working in Mount Vernon and Olympia to promote changes to public records laws in ways that ensure access, while limiting undue burdens on cities.

Mayor Kelli Linville, Bellingham is recognized for her assistance in creating and sustaining a joint city/county/port legislative strategy in her community, and for helping spearhead constructive and creative approaches to housing low income and homeless people in Bellingham.

Mayor Becky Erickson, Poulsbo and Mayor Glenn Johnson, Pullman are recognized for their work in passing legislation that helps protect the public and law enforcement when using body-worn camera technology.

Councilmember Jerry Cummins, Walla Walla is recognized for the second consecutive year for his active and ongoing engagement with area legislators and local media on issues of importance to cities.

Sound Cities Association represented by SCA President, Mayor Nancy Backus, Auburn is recognized for their collective and proactive efforts in promoting and helping solve a range of city issues at the state, federal, and regional levels.

The Association of Washington Cities serves its members through advocacy, educations and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch and with regulatory agencies. AWC also provides training, data and resources, and programs such as Employee Benefit Trust, Risk Management Service Agency, Workers’ Compensation Retrospective Rating Program, and Drug & Alcohol Consortium.


For more information contact:
Dave Williams
Director of Government Relations
(360) 753-4137

Media contact:
Emma Shepard
Communications Coordinator
(360) 753-4137