Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Media center articles

Current Articles | Search

AWC announces City Champion and Transportation Champion award winners

Media contact:
Emma Shepard
Communications Coordinator
(360) 753-4137

Olympia, WA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC), an Olympia-based organization advocating on behalf of Washington’s 281 cities and towns, announced the recipients of its second annual City Champion award on Monday. The award acknowledges the hard work and dedication of legislators who championed critical city issues during the 2015 legislative session.

The organization also announced that it is recognizing eight legislators and the Governor as Transportation Champions for their efforts to enact a transportation package that provides tools and benefits to cities across the state.

“This past legislative session was the longest in state history, yet cities saw signs of a renewed city-state partnership,” said Paul Roberts, AWC President and City of Everett councilmember. “We believe our success was the result of legislators like these champions, who stepped up to help cities.”

“In particular, passage of a comprehensive, multi-modal transportation package was a bright spot of the legislative session,” stated Roberts. “Cities are pleased with the Legislature’s bipartisan action to ensure Washington State and its cities keep moving forward.”

AWC’s City Champion and Transportation Champion awards will be presented to recipients throughout the fall at district events and meetings. 2015 recipients are listed below.

Overall City Champions

Rep. Chris Reykdal (D-Tumwater) is recognized for his efforts to organize and lead a bipartisan caucus of members in the House of Representatives who rallied to promote the interests and needs of cities across the state.

Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton) is recognized for his work to try to craft solutions to problems and costs associated with abusive and costly public records requests, while maintaining public access to information.

Rep. Tana Senn (D-Mercer Island) is recognized for her consistent focus on advocating for the interests of cities and effectively helping her colleagues understand and appreciate the impacts of legislation on local governments.

For the second consecutive year, Sen. Ann Rivers (R-La Center) is recognized as a City Champion. Specifically, she is lauded for her outstanding support of city interests in establishing a more sensible regulatory framework to provide legal marijuana to patients and recreational users, as well as assuring tax revenues are shared with municipalities to protect public safety.

For the second consecutive year, Sen. Mark Mullet (D-Issaquah) is recognized for his efforts to maintain critical city financial support, including help securing previously reduced liquor tax revenues to support local public safety and reminding colleagues of the critical importance of local infrastructure programs.

City Champion All-Star

Rep. Larry Springer (D-Kirkland) is recognized as a city champion for all seasons. He is a longstanding supporter at the forefront of advancing issues that help cities prosper and meet the needs of community members and businesses. He consistently speaks out on behalf of cities in public settings and behind the scenes. He is always available to confer with city representatives and provide them with straight talk, whether they want to hear it or not.

Transportation Champions

House and Senate Transportation Committee Chairs, Rep. Judy Clibborn (D-Mercer Island), Sen. Curtis King (R-Yakima) and Governor Jay Inslee are recognized for their outstanding leadership in crafting and ensuring passage of a bipartisan-supported historic package. Transportation Committee Vice Chair or Ranking Minority Member are also recognized for their critical assistance and support. These recipients include Rep. Jake Fey (D-Tacoma), Sen. Joe Fain (R-Auburn), Rep. Ed Orcutt (R-Kalama), Sen. Steve Hobbs (D-Lake Stevens), Rep. J.T. Wilcox (R-Yelm) and Sen. Marko Liias (D-Lynnwood).

The Association of Washington Cities serves its members through advocacy, education and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, non-profit, non-partisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch and with regulatory agencies. The AWC also provides training, technical assistance, and Member Pooling Programs such as the Employee Benefit Trust, Risk Management Service Agency, Workers’ Comp Retro, and the Drug and Alcohol Consortium.


For more information contact:
Dave Williams
Director of Government Relations
(360) 753-4137